Golden State Warriors NBA Championships

Former NBA player Rick Barry, center, presents the Western Conference finals trophy to Golden State Warriors guard Klay Thompson

Former NBA player Rick Barry, center, presents the Western Conference finals trophy to Golden State Warriors guard Klay Thompson – Icon Sportswire

Only few teams such as Minneapolis Lakers (1952-1954), Boston Celtics (1959-1966), Chicago Bulls (1991-1993 and also 1996-1998) and of course the Los Angeles Lakers (2000-2002) are the only teams in the history of the NBA league that managed to win three titles in the series – the famous “three-peat.” Golden State wants to join the elite society, and in Auckland, everything is subordinate to this goal – the team management has been planning greatly for ” Salary cap ” for years, the stars agree on less pay, while on the court there is no “Egoist” or they know how to hide it.

The season ahead will be 73rd for the NBA’s Warriors, and the 57th and last in San Francisco Bay Area, or “The Oracle Arena.” In the 2019/20 season, Golden State team will start playing in the new hall, located in Mission Bay, on the other side of Golden Gate. “Chase Center” will be the most modern hall in the NBA league, which is understandable given the environment in which it is located. This will be an additional motive, if it is needed at all, to say goodbye with this title from the hall in which significant results were made.

Through history, Warriors changed names a couple of times. The club was founded in Philadelphia in 1946 as Philadelphia Warriors. The Warriors were one of the founders of the Basketball Association of America and the winners of the BAA League in 1947. They won the first title in the NBA League in 1956. They moved to San Francisco in 1962 and became the San Francisco Warriors, and the Golden State Warriors took their name in the 1971/72 season.

Golden State Warriors NBA Championships number will rise years ahead no doubt at all. 

How many Championships have the Golden State Warriors won?

Now is time to turn on the time machine and start driving through the history of Warriors Championships, relax and enjoy the ride.

As Philadelphia Warriors they won the first title in Basketball Association of America (BAA) led by a sensational sharpshooter Joe Fulks, the team won the championship in the 1946/47 season. Winning against the Chicago Stags 4: 1. The NBA league, which was founded in 1949, officially recognizes this championship as its first competition.

They won their second title Warriors in the 1955/56 season, defeating the Fort Wayne Pistons in the final. At that time, the greatest stars of Warriors were Paul Arizin, Tom Gola and Nile Johnston. On the draft in 1959, the team chose Wilt Chamberlain. Quickly Chamberlain adapted and became one of the team leaders. On March 2, 1962, in a match played on neutral ground in Hershey (Pennsylvania), Chamberlain scored 100 points against New York City (the only one who scored 100 points in one game).

Like San Francisco, Warriors won the title of the Western Conference, but they were defeated in the NBA Finals from the Boston Celtics. In the 1964/65 season, Warriors trade Chamberlain in Philadelphia 76ers.

Over the next couple of years, the team was not competitive for the title. In the 1970/71 season, the last time they performed under the name San Francisco Warriors.

The franchise adopted the brand new name Golden State Warriors before the 1971/72 season to indicate that the team represents the entire state of California. Almost all home matches were played in Oakland.

Oakland Arena became the home of Warriors in 1972.

The Warriors played in the playoffs from 1971 to 1977, except in 1974 and won the first NBA title 1974/75  under a new name.

The team changed many players and coaches and suffered a “dry period” for a couple of years.

After that, until 2007, the Warriors failed to qualify for the playoffs. In addition to the more experienced Baron Davies and Jason Richardson and the arrival of young Monte Elis in 2005, they managed to play in the playoffs after 13 years. They won against the Dallas Mavericks 4: 2 in the conference, but they lost to Utah 4: 1 in the next round.

From 2009 until today, “Splash brothers” dynasty is on the line. For the past seventy years, only eighteen times it happened that some team wins over 80% of their matches. The first one on the list is the Washington Capitals in 1947.

Twenty years later, we had Philadelphia 76ers, led by then thirty-year-old Wilt Chamberlain with an average of 24 points and 24 rebounds per game.

After that, the league was witnessed by many dynasties – from Bill Russell and Magic Johnson, through Larry Bird and Michael Jordan to Tim Duncan, Shaquille O’Neal, and LeBron James. However, no one has ever dominated the NBA league as the Golden State Warriors today, the first team in the history of NBA basketball that has at least scored 67 victories in three seasons. What was once amazing and magical today is, thanks to them, usually dull. All on the side the end of their domination is not even visible through binoculars. They won titles in 2015, 2017, 2018.

In the 2016/17 season, Warriors are the first team in the history of the NBA League to win all games in playoff series until the big finals.

So if you still wondering how many rings do the Warriors have, the answer is 6.

Golden State Warriors NBA Championships 1947

The 1947 BAA Finals was played between the Philadelphia Warriors of the Eastern Division and the Chicago Stags of the Western Division. In that matchup, Warriors had home court advantage.

Warriors did not win their Division in the regular season, but they advanced in next round after beating a couple of teams among them the Eastern and Western Division runners-up.

On the other side of the “tree” Washington Capitals and Chicago Stags, played one long series to determine the other finalist, Chicago won 4–2.

In Game 1 it was all about Fulks he scored 29 points in the second half, including 21 in the fourth quarter. Also, Stags had 20.2 shooting percentage. Easy win for Warriors 84–71.

Game 2 was much more interesting, there was no need for Fulks to take his team destiny in his hands because five other Warriors scored double figures. Also, Art Hillhouse made a difference in the 4th quarter for Warriors second win, 85–74.

Game 3 and Game 4 was pretty close, 3rd game 72–75 away victory for Warriors on the other hand 4th game was a close win for Stags, 74–73.

And it all came to Game five, with less than the minute on the clock, the ball is in the Dallmar hands and score is tied, the shot clock is running out, jump shoot and…the rest is history, Golden State Warriors NBA Championships 1947 (at that point Philadelphia Warriors). The first ever Championship for Warriors.

Stephen Curry and Kevin Durant look on from the bench
Stephen Curry and Kevin Durant look on from the bench – Icon Sportswire

If you keep asking yourself, where is the difference between GSW and others, let me just tell you that the key difference between GSW and other NBA teams is, as I see it, a player’s choice. Whether it’s a draft, a selection of free players, or an exchange of players with other teams. As for other NBA teams and for them, it is a complex process. The process in which millions of dollars are invested every year. I think that GSW time has come. If they continue doing smart things they can rule NBA league for many years to come.

Copyright © 2021, The Basketball Fans. All rights reserved.